The Board

There are nine school board members. To contact the school board please send an email to This email will go to all nine school board members.\

The School Board acts officially only as a corporate group. An individual School Board member has no authority outside of a formally called Board meeting. No one acts in the name of the Board except when authorized by the full Board to do so.

The School Board is the policy-making body for the school district. They set policies for management of the district that the superintendent and the district staff then carry out. The School Board approves the budget; establishes goals and priorities; acquires and disposes of property; serves as a link between the school system and the public; and interprets educational needs and concerns of the community. In addition to attending board meetings, Board Members serve as liaisons to various district and non-district committees.


Election Day: June 11, 2024

Board shall meet to Canvas Election Returns and Declare Results June 24, 2024

Terms Expiring: Sheldon Wolf – Rural At-Large Rick Horn – At-Large Caroline Kozojed – At-Large Tim Rector – At-Large (1 year term)

1 Tear Team (Vote for One)
Jake Schmidt
Dr. Tim Rector
Victoria Vayda-Hammond
Julie Cronin Skaret
3 Year Term (Vote for Two)
Amy Schanandore
Caroline Kozojed
Maureen Wanner
Rick Horn
Rural Sear (Vote for One)
Sheldon Wolf

School Board Members

5 days ago

Mr. Sheldon Wolf, President

Mr. Wolf has served on the Mandan School Board since 2013.  His term will expire in 2024.

Mr. Rick Horn

Mr. Horn has served on the MPS Board since 2014.  Horn is the Executive Director of the Morton County Housing Authority.  His term will expire in 2024.

Mrs. Caroline Kozojed

Mrs. Kozojed is an Assistant Professor at the Gary Tharaldson School of Business.  Her term will expire in 2024.

Mrs. Marnie Piehl

Mrs. Piehl has served on the MPS school board since 2014. Piehl is the ND Communications Director for AARP. Her term will expire in 2026. 

Mrs. Kama Hoovestol

Mrs. Hoovestol has served on the MPS Board since 2014 and her term will expire in 2026. 

Mr. Darren Haugen

Mr. Haugen has served on the MPS Board since 2020.  Haugen is the Assistant Vice President at Starion Bank and his term will expire in 2026.

Ms. Lori Furaus

Ms. Furaus has served on the MPS School Board since 2013. Furaus is a teacher at Bismarck Public Schools and her term will expire in 2025.

Mr. Tom Peters

Mr. Peters has served on the MPS Board since 2022.  Peters is a retired MPS teacher of 34 years. His term will expire in 2025. 

Dr. Tim Rector

Dr. Rector completed 5-terms on the Mandan School Board in June of 2022.  He chose not to run for re-election, but was appointed to fill a vacant seat on the board until the next school board election in June of 2024

Mandan Public Schools Standing Committees

Facilities & Finance

Objectives Include: Instructional Resources, Technology, School Facilities and Transportation, and Financial Processes. 

Policy & Personnel

Objectives Include: Human Resources Policy

Student Achievement

Objectives Include: Curriculum, Instruction, and Environments

Public Participation

A scheduled time for public participation has been placed on the agenda at MPS Board of Education general meetings. The Board desires to hear the viewpoints of citizens throughout the district. Individuals wishing to address the Board are requested to make arrangements with the Board President or the Superintendent prior to the meeting. Comments should be made to the Board and not to individuals in the audience and be related to school operations and programs. The Board will not hear personal complaints against any person connected with the school district. Comments must address topics that are on the agenda. If a citizen would like to add a topic to the school board agenda, arrangements must be made no later than Thursday prior to the meeting. The Board reserves the right to eliminate or restrict the time allowed for public participation. The Board requests that comments are limited to five (5) minutes or less. Groups of individuals addressing a common concern are asked to designate a spokesperson.

Superintendent's Corner

5 days ago

Dr. Mike Bitz

Welcome to the Mandan Public School website. The Mandan School District educates over 4,300 students in grades Pre K-12 and employs about 670 people, which includes 340 teachers. The district has one high school (grades 9-12), one middle school (grades 6-8), six elementary schools (grades K-5), an alternate high school for grades 10-12 and five preschool special education classrooms. It is our intent to create an environment in our schools that challenges every student to acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to become informed and productive citizens in today’s global society. A close working relationship between teachers and parents is necessary for this to be accomplished.